Throwback Tunes

Throwback tunes, a remembrance of youth.

Music is a special art form. It creates an emotional response in humans that other art forms can’t attain. It creates endorphins in the brain, which are stimulating, and can boost your mood. We are more open, and more positive, when we are happy. Music can trigger that feeling. There is a reason that children respond to, and learn through music: it’s fun, it relieves stress, and it is invigorating to the soul.

Everyone has a genre of music that speaks to them. Most often it is a form of music that was popular in your youth. I’ve heard that the most impressionable years of your music taste are in your teens, and many people still listen to the music of their teenage years as it brings joy to their lives. I’m no exception. I am very impressionable by music and my music taste. By listening to the pop punk genre of my youth, I am instantly thrown into the feeling of careless and freedom that I felt as a young teen.

I know all the words to the popular songs and instantly feel good when I listen to a pop punk playlist. It’s the only genre that gives me the edge that I crave. (As I’ve gotten older my edge has changed, I’m harder in areas in which I was once soft and softer where I was once hard. I wouldn’t trade my new edge, but it’s nice to reflect on where I came from.) It creates uninterrupted joy in my life. I can sing-a- long and forget about the passage of time. The words come off my lips, the melody beats in my blood, and it doesn’t matter what time of day it plays. I’m ready to rock and relax. I get a smile on my face. It’s the music of my youth, and maybe it’s nostalgic, maybe it’s feel good, who knows, but like I said, when I listen to it, I float above my body and every bit of tension, chore, bill, care in the world disappears and I am caught in this beautiful moment of the present. A place I’m often not.

Throwback tunes, a remembrance of youth. 

A six word poem I wrote last week. 

Stay present, and view the simple things in life with a pop of colour

Cheers,

EOP

Published by explosionofpaint

I’m a wife, a mom, a high school teacher, and a down to earth girl writing about finding joy in everyday life.

Leave a comment